Wabash was already a flourishing railroad town when the Indiana Hotel, as the Charley Creek Inn originally was called, was built in 1920. The Georgian Revival gem opened with great fanfare, quickly becoming a source of pride for the city. It thrived for years as Wabash’s central landmark, drawing guests to its impeccably decorated guest rooms, and locals, too, to its famed restaurant and bar.
Eventually converting to an apartment building, the gracious hotel obtained a new lease on life in 2007, when local philanthropist and historic preservation aficionado Richard E. Ford, of the Ford Meter Box family, bought the building and renovated it to perfection.
Renamed the Charley Creek Inn, after a creek running through town, the boutique hotel reopened in 2010 and hasn’t looked back since. Indeed, in 2011 it was awarded the coveted Cook Cup for Outstanding Restoration, the highest award for historic renovation in Indiana; and it has served as a catalyst for downtown renewal.